Fluidic and electric microsystems for life science studies

Microfluidic devices have the good scale to perform electrical, photonic or plasmonic experiments on single cells, cell tissues, or to perform parallel biochemical assay. This theme is divided into two actions:

  1. Bio-Microfuidic Systems
  2. Droplet-based microfluidics systems:

1. Bio-Microfuidic Systems

The electric field induces changes not only in the plasma membrane of cells (electroporation), but also affects its intracellular content. Microfluidic devices are used for the real time monitoring of those effects. We develop devices for the treatment of cells (single cells or cell tissues), or for the characterization of cells and cell  components (membrane, intracellular content).  More details on this activity

Biodevices for the monitoring and the treatment of micro-algae:
Microalgue

Microalgae are producing intracytoplasmic lipid droplets, which is a potential biofuel source. We investigate in our group the application of electrical and/or mechanical treatments, and their effects on the membrane and wall of the micro-organism, at the level of the single cell, using therefore specific microfluidic systems More details

 

 

 

 

Biodevices for the red blood cells sensing:
micro fluidique globule rouge

We develop devices for the mechanical and electrical sensing of the rigidity of red blood cells. Genetic diseases like the sickle cell disease or spherocytosis disease, or infectious diseases like malaria, affect the rigidity of the red blood cells. Microfluidic devices , equipped with sensing electrodes, are capable to characterize and discrimitate the different levels of the disease. More details

 

 

 

 

Cell trapping and treatment with the electrical field:
Piège à cellules

We work on the fabrication and design of microfluidic devices playing with the electric field, in order to handle and/or apply treatments on cells. Cell electroporation, or nanoporation is investigated on a chip.  Electrorotation is also used, for cell content or organoid content sensing. More details

 

 

 

 

Bio-mimicking microfluidic devices:

We propose microfluidic devices capable to reproduce the structure and functions of the spleen, or more recently reproducing functions of the liver lobule (organ on chip). Besides, the group works on the microfluidic integration of biological or biomimicking solid-state nanopores, for the biosensing.  More details

 

 

 

 

2. Droplet-based microfluidics systems:

allows for the production and the manipulation of highly monodisperse microdroplets of fluids, each of those being an independent microreactor, enabling highly sensitive (bio)chemical assays. Such “digital” optofluidic micro-systems can be used in many areas, including biological membrane studies, biosensing, artificial photosynthesis or nanophotonics.

Microsystèmes fluidiques et électriques pour l'étude des sciences de la vie

Les dispositifs microfluidiques ont la bonne échelle pour réaliser des expériences électriques, photoniques ou plasmoniques sur des cellules individuelles, des tissus cellulaires, ou pour effectuer des essais biochimiques en parallèle. Ce thème est divisé en deux actions :

  1. Systèmes biomicrofuidiques
  2. Systèmes microfluidiques à base de gouttelettes

1. Systèmes biomicrofuidiques :

Le champ électrique induit des changements non seulement dans la membrane plasmique des cellules (électroporation), mais affecte également son contenu intracellulaire. Des dispositifs microfluidiques sont utilisés pour suivre ces effets en temps réel. Nous développons des dispositifs pour le traitement des cellules (cellules individuelles ou tissus cellulaires), ou pour la caractérisation des cellules et des composants cellulaires (membrane, contenu intracellulaire).
 

Biodispositifs pour la surveillance et le traitement des micro-algues
Microalgue

 

 

 

 

 

 

Biodispositif pour la détection de globules rouges:
micro fluidique globule rouge

Nous développons des dispositifs pour la détection mécanique et électrique de la rigidité des globules rouges. Des maladies génétiques comme la drépanocytose ou la sphérocytose, ou des maladies infectieuses comme le paludisme, affectent la rigidité des globules rouges. Les dispositifs microfluidiques, équipés d'électrodes de détection, sont capables de caractériser et de discriminer les différents niveaux de la maladie

 

 

 

 

Piégeage des cellules et traitement avec le champ électrique :
Piège à cellules

 Nous travaillons sur la fabrication et la conception de dispositifs microfluidiques jouant avec le champ électrique, afin de manipuler et/ou d'appliquer des traitements sur les cellules. L'électroporation des cellules, ou nanoporation, est étudiée sur une puce.  L'électroporation est également utilisée, pour la détection du contenu cellulaire ou du contenu organoïde

 

 

 

 

Bio-mimétisme des dispositifs microfluidiques :

Nous proposons des dispositifs microfluidiques capables de reproduire la structure et les fonctions de la rate, ou plus récemment de reproduire les fonctions du lobule du foie (organe sur puce). En outre, le groupe travaille sur l'intégration microfluidique de nanopores biologiques ou biomimétiques à l'état solide, pour la biodétection.

 

 

 

 

2. Systèmes microfluidiques à base de gouttelettes :

permet la production et la manipulation de microgouttelettes de fluides hautement monodispersées, chacun d'entre eux étant un microréacteur indépendant, permettant des essais (bio)chimiques hautement sensibles. Ces microsystèmes optofluidiques "numériques" peuvent être utilisés dans de nombreux domaines, notamment l'étude des membranes biologiques, la biodétection, la photosynthèse artificielle ou la nanophotonique.

Des microcapsules mésoporeuses pour l'administration intelligente de médicaments

Microsystèmes fluidiques et électriques pour l'étude des sciences de la vie